Built about 1860 for J. Reuben Jeffers. The 1877 map shows it was a boarding house rented to Alexander Lowery of Coxe’s Neck. He later bought the property and opened it as a hotel in November of 1883. Alterations and additions were made to meet the needs of the many overnight travelers coming from the Matapeake, Broad Creek, and Love Point ferry landings. A livery stable provided transportation. Meals were 25 cents. Fountain and Florence Lowery Jackson continued the business for several years after Mrs. Lowery’s death. It remained in the Lowery family until the heirs sold it in 1935.