THE COCKEY HOUSE
This house, ca.1870, was originally owned by Charles B. Downes. An 1877 map identifies it as parsonage for the First Methodist Protestant Church, which rented it until a new parsonage was build next to the church. [See Site 20.] Miss Mary Cockey, an elementary school teacher, and her father, James Cockey, assistant postmaster in Stevensville, bought the house in the early 1900s. She maintained her collection of books as the local library at the house for many years. She had an addition build on the west side and enlarged the front porch.